Asparagus with aged copper

I had this idea to paint the ugly ceiling tiles in the library (now more of an office) a dark brown color. They were discolored and gross and putting up a new ceiling seemed insanely time consuming. After trying out a few different options that all including a *faux tin* idea of sorts, we settled on the straight metallic color – aged copper.

I was a bit tentative as I was painting, but there was no turning back. It took two coats of enduring the awful smell of the paint to get all the nooks and crannies of the textured tiles covered, but in the end was worth it.

It’s a bit funky, but that’s just fine. And it’s a far cry from this. We still need to put crown molding back up and finish the windows, but it’s an almost complete room.

This entry was posted in house restoration. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Asparagus with aged copper

  1. Chantel says:

    This is beautiful! What color are the roof tiles painted? I must do this in my dining room! Thanks in advance.

  2. Nicole says:

    Thanks Chantel… The tiles are painted Aged Copper, which is by Rustoleum I do believe. It’s oil based, so it’s stinky, but it was worth it. 🙂

  3. Natasha says:

    I just want to say THANK YOU! I moved into an apartment with hideous pop up ceilings throughout the whole things along with fluorescent lighting. I’ve found fluorescent lighting replacements that look like stained glass, but as far as looking for the faux tins, they were only in square sizes and the acoustic pop-up office/school nonsense in my apartment is in rectangles. The picture looks fantastic. I’m going to do this ASAP!

  4. Diana says:

    I have been searching the internet for days looking for a solution to my ugly acoustic tiles! I even posted on houzz.com and everyone just told me to drywall and i was afraid paint would be a waste of time and money but I’m so glad I stumbled on this post! Ceiling tiles look awesome in the bronze. For my bonus room the lighting in there stinks so ill probably try painting with a lighter color sample first but I think the dark looks awesome on your tiles so im relieved i dont have to wait and save for a drywall project to give my craft room a makeover!!

  5. David says:

    Hi there, great idea! Our acoustic tiles cover every inch of ceiling in our house, and they are totally BLAH! Now… there are places where the tiles are drooping. Did you have to do any ‘repair work’ and if so, what did ya use to reattach them?

  6. This is simply gorgeous! I am now following your blog.

  7. Margie says:

    I am only finding a spray paint that is rustoleum aged copper. So was this spray painted?? Please help I hate the tile in my bedroom and this would be so pretty with the burgandy walls.

  8. Margie says:

    I found the paint quarts! Any other tips you can give me before I start this project would be great.

  9. Rebecca says:

    I just stumbled upon this and I am so thankful I did! Did you just take the tiles down and spray them with the Rustoleum cans or did you use a brush/roller??

Leave a Reply

